Green Scratchpad

“Green Scratchpad” [29th March 2024] by Matt The Unfathomable Artist, acrylic fine art painting on 280gsm 10in x 12in gesso primed canvas, 4500 x 5304 pixels.

Here I am catching up documenting works to my WordPress. To my count I have seven unique works to include after “Green Scratchpad”. Five paintings, a sketch and digital art photograph.

For some reason I felt compelled to paint artwork following artwork the evening of 29th.

Gorgeous green paint!

Here is a quote I posted to my Instagram about “Green Scratchpad”:

[ i made three beauties tonight. this is one of them, Green Scratchpad (i scratched two tiny pink spots out the canvas lol) although i called it that before i knew i would! its utterly perfect even if i say myself . Cy Twombly inspired obv. i am hoping to gift this one ]

Interestingly after scratching out two pinkish dots top-right and lower-left I noticed one pinkish dot in the scratchpad itself, mid-right inside the palette knife scratch lines. That one is now happily part of the piece.

The piece exhibits subtle pinkish-red, cyan and yellow flecks. I mixed the green paint from red and blue acrylic originally intended for “Pink Monument Abstract”. “Green Scratchpad” is made very quickly and intuitively.

The paint lines were scratched differently to the two pink dots I removed from the canvas. For clarification if anyone wishes to know, the dots scratched out is (1) the clear white canvas highlight top-right and (2) a less noticeable highlight lower-left.

Pure chance unintended placement since these somehow made their way onto this canvas following work on my first painting of the evening “Pink Monument Abstract”.

At the time of making “Green Scratchpad” I had no preconceived ideas. None. Zero. Not even a title. I generally title works after they’re made anyway. So true since I titled this “Scratchpad” at first upon completion. Changing the title only to reflect the gorgeous green I made.

Furthermore I did have a thought. What if I made different versions of this in a multitude of colours with its own individual scratching design?

Art my friends is a personable production.

That said some people knowing my life will appreciate that again, subconsciously, I am spontaneously drawing upon interconnected conceptual themes. For a clue here is another artwork I made in subconscious thought.. “Conkers of the 2021 Season”.

I was over halfway to etching lines into the green canvas when I realised a possible connection to..

.. numbers.

My favourite part of the canvas is probably the IM you can see at the mid-lower-right. 100% pure chance as the detailing of the right-vertical ‘soundbar‘ is completely random! So random I only just made up the idea to call that a soundbar whilst writing these literal words at 1924hrs.

IM (to me) means I AM. Me. The person of myself.

By the way certain elements in this piece remind me of movies! Movie studios producing specific movies. Why? Black and white action films I watched as a boy.

I can tell you having finished this work very quickly it felt great. An achievement of creativity and quality art making.

During canvas working and afterwards a particularly famous master artist in my thoughts.

Please note this artwork is gifted. I shall send this to them at best convenience with how I see its framing. Of course it is entirely their choice how they do so.

Standard