The Last of the Mohicans Teaches Us

I love studying world art.

Young Omahaw, War Eagle, Little Missouri, and Pawnees, painted 1821 by Charles Bird King

Young Omahaw, War Eagle, Little Missouri, and Pawnees, painted 1821 by Charles Bird King

Whilst we all have favourites within any realm of interest I believe variety provides good balance for serious Art Professionals.  Variety across subjects, genres, topics, cultures, media, styles and spectra.

A friend of my Dad (my Dad having passed away December 2010) is an expert in Native American history so our family had an interest in genealogical studies prior to the fairly recent trend through various internet sites.  Our Dad mentioned France on a few occasions.  To be honest I originate from the man before me.

At about 10 years of age I recall my class teacher, a naturally gifted artist, encouraging the class to create a family tree.  She was a wise lady if you know what I mean and openly kept a preserved dead snake in a jar in our classroom.  I loved her and she loved me.

I’m still intensely amused whilst she was remarking on our class daffodil study having arranged same for us to complete.  All of us merrily drawing on art paper with charcoal pencil blocks.  You can almost see the tongues hanging out, pencil in hand wide-eyed, displaced of spirit in ecstasy at enjoyment.

Ms D attentively walked around the whole class making encouraging comments to each of us.  Teaching for her was biting the apple.  Seeing the apple drop in order to measure.  View the height and the breadth.  Listening to the sounds.

Like wise Mohicans of the natural world and their many teachings.

Returning to those daffodils – here is how art is.. I kept drawing, kept charcoaling those classic daffodils until they were inscrutably black.  Void of discernible inner form, merely lines of the outskirts.

Quite some moments before my teacher had carefully remarked:

‘I think you have it there now Matthew.’

Well I guess I was enjoying myself far too much to listen.  To this day I like to think of this as the world.  Knowing now what is.  A cause to become.

Her last comments about going a little too far had me roaring with laughter inside.  ‘The amusement never ends’.  Artistically in terms of beauty and aesthetic appeal she was of course right.  But I guess that is how I saw it at the time.

Imagine please this scene.  In the morning we would arrive to our class to see that her blackboard displayed a masterful new artwork in chalk pastels.  Flowers her personal speciality.  For an undeniably creative person it was impossible not to be greatly influenced by her artful brilliance.  Prior to leaving school my only interest academically speaking was art.

I couldn’t care less about any other subjects at that time in the academical sense.  Although I did have considerable interest within each subject and enjoyed learning.  Aside from geography, then.  Zoology.  Chef.  Information Technology.

What did you want to be?  What do you want to be?  What can you create to become?

 

‘This is your world’ – Bob Ross the well known protege said,

and

“We have to remember that the way things are is not the only possible way that they could be.”
― William (Bill) Alexander.

Charles Bird King born 1785 (to 1862) beautifully catalogued history for us through his American ancestral portraiture.

Petalesharo (Generous Chief) Pawnee c1822, by Charles Bird King:

Hmmm, a little less conversation don’t you think?  Feathers are as varietal and resplendent as rare flowers. Uh huh huh.

Mount Rushmore National Memorial (carved 1927 to 1941) – Sculpted by Danish-American Gutzon Borglum and Lincoln Borglum:

Still Life on a Green Table Cloth by Charles Bird King, c1815:

Charles_Bird_King_Still_Life_on_a_Green_Table_Cloth

The glass detailing of his work is truly outstanding.  Modern artist Darren Baker is surely impressed.  I kindly invite you to see Darren Baker’ artwork and view ‘Candlelit Wine’ in pastel for your pleasure if you have never seen his work.

Thank you.

Standard

Leave a comment