Songwriting Mood With Added Swings, Dali-cious

Inspiration is often like the dances of butterflies.  Pretty and irrevocably beautiful.  Whilst I’m eager to paint soon, creating new song ideas and musical compositions has been lots of fun.

Most songwriters enjoy various layers of thought to their songs and I’m definitely no exception.  As a boy of three years of age I was, I’m told, a fan of Abba and Queen’s ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’.  I know this to be true.

Working out everything with reference to the latter lyrics was extremely satisfying, especially when my thoughts were rightly confirmed quite some time afterwards.

I recall a famous guitarist from another rock band stating that there was no way their lead singer could possibly have much meaningful sense or reason to some of the lyrics he had jotted in a mere matter of minutes.

I dissect whatever seems reasonable to gain an understanding of individual people.  Really though, can anyone know you better than yourself?

The strangest new chorus came to my mind the other day:

‘Have you seen the Cannibal?
Lurkin’ wanton inside your skull,
It’s kind of grey and alien!
Feedin’ on bloods limitation

Don’t get caught, don’t get scared
Cos when its hungry it don’t care
It’ll-sweep-you-off-the-floor, with.. your.. bones,
Its gaze turns your body putrefied Auld,
Like Seventy Nine to the Power of Ten’

Matt, The Unfathomable Artist – Copyright © 10th April 2015

Standard

Leave a comment